let’s just go.

by hillsandbridges

a0831528374_10Fresh off of a long weekend it was time to settle back into reality. No more copious amounts of food and drinks, just work and priorities.

When deciding what music to put on today, I thought it might be a good idea to hear what my local city has to offer. I hit up Bandcamp and the first album cover that caught my eye was Beach Station Blues II. This album was put together by the record company Real Love Winnipeg in the summer of 2012.

They gathered local musicians and stuffed them all in a cabin out at Winnipeg Beach. Over three days these diverse bands put together their individual magic to create this record.

The genres range drastically but it collectively offers an amazing sound. Though it wasn’t easy to pick a favourite, there was one track that caught my attention first. This is probably due to the fact that I started listening to it in the middle rather than at the beginning.

Needless to say here is a fantastic song by Young Folk called Your Words. Residing in Brandon, Manitoba, Canada this band creates some beautiful folk melodies mixed with backgrounds of the cello and a pure voice. It’s short, simple, and sweet.